What I like about these images is that you can tell the goal was to fill every possible bit of usable volume of space in the car with humans or some sort of hard-sided cargo, and they did just that. Little area behind the spare tire in the front trunk, under the main loading area? It gets a little box. The tiny shelf under the rear window, just behind the main area of the rear luggage well? A strange tiny parcel fits there, too, possibly a longish one, but we have to guess, as we get no overhead view. Also, I like the implication that driving with the rear seat folded is a white glove affair, while driving with the rear seat up is not. Good to know.

The Jagst 770 was, as you likely have guessed, a license-built version of the Fiat 600. The company that made it was a German joint venture between NSU and Fiat, sometimes known as Neckar, sometimes just NSU-Fiat. Also, if you’re looking at this and thinking, hot pickles, that baby looks eff-aigh-ess-tea, then boy are you right! That 25 horsepower 767cc inline-twin could motherflapping launch this brute from zero to 100 (well, kilometers) in a blistering 40.6 seconds! That is well under a minute!   I would include a picture but, ahem, I can’t do that. I really can’t communicate well without pictures, hint hint. Fist? https://www.classicdriver.com/en/article/autos/tornado-fiat-600gt-stormchasing-colin-chapman https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-C8SU7pnkSo Then I looked again and realized this is a 25 hp JagST with some shitty post-war cardboard luggage crammed into the trunk that may leak and soak the lederhosen and schnitzel. My bad. I always wonder if it, even back then, was chosen mostly for visual flair. As in, people in 1960 would look at this ad and think “really, they think the wife’s gonna taking her finest hat on the trip to the lake? You know how much that cost me? I don’t think so. And how the hell am I supposed to cook my Frankfurter Wurstchen in this thing anyway??” It is interesting that everyone is dressed up, maybe the foursome are just going to an event, I imagine it was something like Cousin Hilda’s wedding, and the small packages are wedding gifts.

Cold Start  I Wonder What s In That Little Tiny Box Back There - 33Cold Start  I Wonder What s In That Little Tiny Box Back There - 93